Anita Nair

Anita Nair is a popular English writer from India. Her first book was a collection of short stories and called “Satyr of the Subway.” She won a fellowship from the Virginia Center for Creative Arts thanks to this. Based out of Bangalore, she is also the author of 16 novels until now. Her latest book is Cut like wound and is published by Harper Collins. Well, we at The Book and Movie Reviewra had a short discussion with her and here it is!


How and from where do you draw inspiration to write your novels?

There is no difference in the subjects that I choose to write about, be it poetry or prose. What happens is that every day there are several times when I chance upon a word, idea, picture, scene or even thought and think – here’s a story. But what ultimately gets written is an idea that is so powerful that it refuses to dislodge itself no matter what happens. For me what is supreme is a good story and character driven narratives… naturally this is what motivates me to write the kind of books I do…

How do you react to a bad review of your books?

The trick is not to be swayed by either a good or bad review and I have had plenty of both kinds… As an artist, one has to grow a protective skin to remain untouched by what the world thinks of you. As I am human, I am delighted when there is a great review and miffed/hurt by bad or vicious reviews. Nevertheless I would be failing my art by allowing such things to change the way I write or influence me in anyway.

Are there any occupational hazards to being a writer?

No

Have you ever seen yourself as a character in a book or movie? If yes, which one? 

No

What is your next venture? How do you feel being interviewed about it? 

I am working on a historical novel set in 17th century Kerala. I am also in the preparatory stages of the next Inspector Gowda novel. Apprehensive as these are still works in progress.

You can read more about her at http://www.anitanair.net.

